14 Comments

Thank you for sharing this. I saw it in time to use it. We had grandkids over and opened their gifts this evening so the timing was perfect.

Expand full comment

Our family (our four children, their spouses, and our 13 grandchildren, ages 2–18, as well as the mother-in-law of one of our children), 24 in all, did the liturgy before opening presents on Christmas Day. It was meaningful and helped us all keep the focus on our generous, merciful, Lord and Savior! Thank you SO much for offering this resource!

Expand full comment

Our family (our four children, their spouses, and our 13 grandchildren, ages 2–18, as well as the mother-in-law of one of our children), 24 in all, did the liturgy before opening presents on Christmas Day. It was meaningful and helped us all keep the focus on our generous, merciful, Lord and Savior! Thank you SO much for offering this resource!

Expand full comment

https://witness.lcms.org/2021/come-lord-jesus/

It hurts to read negative comments but I guess it’s the price for sharing. I am grateful to use a liturgy when opening gifts this morning. Thank you.

It is good to give thanks in ALL things. Merry Christmas.

Expand full comment
founding

I didn't even know I had been waiting for a liturgy before opening presents before you sent it out. Pastor Wolfmueller, thank you for your thoughtfulness. This liturgy will be especially helpful when we open presents with friends and family who didn't go to church with us.

Expand full comment

Definitely using. Thanks.

Expand full comment

Wonderful! Thank you, pastor Wolfmueller, for this gift to us. We are looking forward to using it so that we can center the gift giving and receiving on Christ.

Expand full comment

Printed. We'll use it tomorrow morning. Merry Christmas!

Expand full comment

This is really nice, Pastor Wolfmueller. I love watching God use you for innovation! You see the people’s needs and pump out relevant responses that reach them- even all the way up in Michigan.

Expand full comment

Awesome idea! I am having my church admin blast this out via email to the congregation and will have them put into all parish members’ mailboxes this morning. Thank you for this!

Blessed Advent and Merry Christmas Eve!

Pastor Aaron Beckman

Expand full comment

This was a wonderful way that I could provide a richer, more meaningful prayer before our Christmas celebration with family. The fact that it was participatory was also good, and my many non-Lutheran family members seemed to enjoy it. Also, the QR code as a way to get it quickly in the hands of family members is a brilliant use of technology. Thank you!

Expand full comment

I used the prayer in the middle at Christmas lunch.

Expand full comment

I balk at inviting Jesus to be our guest. Yes, I know it is the common table prayer but we are always His guests. It seems condescending when I think of it.

The concept of a liturgy before opening the gifts is wonderful. I would modify it.

Expand full comment

I was with you until “These” vs “Thy” gifts.

Still awesome.

Expand full comment